Street Art in Davao City by The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf®

Have you read my previous post about the The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf®’s Brew Your Best Year: Street Art Series?

The second leg of the series was conducted by the street artists here in Davao City last February 27, 2016. It is the first public mural created by the CBTL customers in Davao City which can now be seen in what is called the “creative and entertainment hub of Davao”, Matina Town Square.

image

CBTL Street Art series Davao leg

The event started with a brief background about Street Art its history and legalities. Also speakers featured known personalities and their works in the field of street art. So I started to get curious to Banksy, Shepard Fairey, Space Invader and more.

image

image

Franco one of the local street artists in Davao City and an expert in using wheat paste as his main medium talking about the History of Street Art.

image

Ghamar Kanda sharing about the legalities of Street Art. He is popular of his works in spray cans and industrial paints.

image

Troy Bascon showing more artworks and different type of street arts. He is known for his iconic style of using cans and intricate grafitti letters.

image

Kim Vale discussed how to incorporate stencils in street art. He is a graduate of fine arts with a background on painting.

There were different art enthusiast from Davao who joined the event. Some were into calligraphy, stencil arts, sketching, painting but obviously most of them shares the same passion and interest in Art.

image

image

image

There were also bloggers and others who were first timers like me since I’m into oil pastels back then and have never tried street art yet . I got the chance to express something I had in my mind that time but I wouldn’t credit it as an achievement to crossed my Bucketlist which is to create a Graffiti on a wall because I know I need to do better than what I made during the event and like what I said I  just made “something” and the bucketlist I have in my mind aims “a complete wall” (is their an incomplete wall btw, sorry!). I mean  not just one little side of a wall. Hahaha! Boo! Nonetheless, I enjoyed the experience especially the struggle and laughter I shared with my group mates who were also first timers.

image

Lou, Sarah, Me and our Masterpiece (insert Sir Michael)

Check out more art works of Davao artists :

image

image

image

image

image

imageimageimage

I appreciate how industries nowadays gave value to their corporate social responsibilities. So far, the Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf is one of those businesses I know who has been actively conducting activities like this which benefits the people and more than that I also like their workshops because it’s for free. Indeed CBTL have taken upon itself the mission to spread joy in all forms and one of it is by encouraging the people to brew their best years by becoming the best version of themselves.

Looking forward to another activity with CBTL.

More photos of the event :

Want to share your story on becoming the best version of your self? Submit it here.

10 thoughts on “Street Art in Davao City by The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf®

Leave a Reply

